Posted by: Antonia Ciccolo | July 3, 2010

June 28-30: Vegan Travel Trial Period

I decided to do a three-day trial period before jumping into the challenge to see if I actually could be a traveling vegan. And sure enough, it hasn’t been as hard as I expected! I started my vegan diet on Monday, June 28 and I plan to continue to be vegan for at least three months.

Last week, I was able to eat fruit and oatmeal for breakfast; Amy’s Organic vegan meals (from a grocery store) for lunch; raisins, nuts, and Enjoy Life bars for snacks… and then there’s dinner. Dinner has been a little bit more of a challenge. On Tuesday night (June 29) I went to Cuba Libre in Old City Philadelphia. Luckily, the menu had one completely vegan meal which was fabulous. When I asked if this dish had dairy or egg, she responded, “It’s completely Vegan!” Here was the description:

Bacan de Platanos Vegetarianos
Banana lead-wrapped plantain tamal. African stew of
roasted cauliflower, okra and coconut milk xim-xim.

I would highly recommend it!

On Wednesday night (June 30) we went to Fork Restaurant in Old City Philadelphia. I called ahead to make sure they had vegan menu options. They were able to make their vegetarian dish without cheese!

s p r i n g  p e a  r i s o t t o  19
pea shoots, local sugar snap peas, mint,
green garlic purée, crispy shallots, parmigiano reggiano

They also had these excellent vegan sides:

S I D E S  4.5
toasted quinoa with peppers and parsley •
roasted fingerling potatoes • sautéed broccoli •
baby arugula with rosemary shoestring potatoes • braised greens

Overall, my vegan dining experience in Old City Philadelphia was great. I was able to try foods that I otherwise would not have tried and was always able to have a fabulous meal.

The trial period is over. Now I am officially a vegan traveler!

Leave a Reply

Categories

