Posted by: Antonia Ciccolo | August 4, 2010

Top Five Vegan Travel Snacks

Traveling every week makes it difficult to get the nutrients needed to stay healthy and to prevent from being hungry when there aren’t any vegan options available. Here are some healthy snacks I like to travel with that are easy to pack in my suitcase and last all week long. These snacks are in no particular order:

  1. Oatmeal: 365 Organic Whole-Grain Oatmeal is a healthy breakfast or snack item to pack. For a quick and easy breakfast, I can throw a packet of oatmeal in my laptop bag and add hot water when I get to the office. And, if you’d prefer to eat breakfast in your hotel room, many hotels provide in-room coffee makers that can boil some water.
  2. Nuts: 365 Deluxe Mixed Nuts, 365 Organic Almonds, or 365 Organic Cashews are easy snacks to pack that provide lots of protein and are really filling too. This is my go-to snack if I’m starving right before dinner time but know I won’t be able to eat for awhile.
  3. Snack Bars: Enjoy Life Snack bars are gluten-free, dairy-free, peanut-free, tree-nut free, soy free, egg free and casein-free. Whole Foods provides four different flavors: Very Berry, Cocoa Loco, Caramel Apple and Sunbutter Crunch. Cocoa Loco bars are by far my favorite. LARABARs are another good vegan snack bar option. They are gluten-free, dairy-free, soy free, non-GMO, vegan, and kosher, and also come in a variety of flavors (check out the different flavors at <http://www.larabar.com/food/larabar/>. It looks like they have three new flavors: Chocolate Chip Brownie, Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough, and Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip. I also found OrganicNatureBars in a small snack shop in Terminal E of Houston’s George Bush Intercontinental airport. Vegan snack bars seem to be everywhere!
  4. Dried Fruit: 365 Organic Raisins (1.5 oz packs) are perfect for something sweet after lunch or dinner. Pretty much all grocery stores and many airport snack shops provide dried fruit. Have you ever had dried mangos? I would highly recommend them!
  5. Whole Fruit: Apples and oranges are great healthy snack options and are easy to pack as well. I absolutely love bananas but I wouldn’t recommend packing them in your suitcase. Oftentimes I try to pick up a banana at a local (or hotel) Starbucks to put in my oatmeal for breakfast. Yum.

If my hotel room has a microwave or refrigerator (the hotels I’m currently staying in don’t but sometimes they are available upon request or at chains like the Embassy Suites) you can also pick up some nutrient-rich vegetables at a grocery store like spinach, broccoli, and other vegetables that can be microwaved in the bag. Amy’s Organic vegan meals are also an excellent source of protein, very tasty, and make great, healthy in-room frozen dinners. Otherwise, I have to rely on my snacks mentioned above and normal hotel and restaurant food for meals. My vegan travel recommendation: if you plan ahead, and bring healthy and filling snacks, you will never go hungry.

Leave a Reply

Categories

