Posted by: Antonia Ciccolo | September 3, 2010

BluePrintCleanse

Since I’m on “vacation” for two weeks and get to spend a couple days at home, I thought I’d kick off September with a two-day cleanse. I decided to go with the BluePrintCleanse (BPC), mostly because my friends have talked about it and because I know their juices are 100% vegan.

On Wednesday, September 1st I slept in and woke up ready to cleanse. I decided to do the most intense cleanse of the three that BPC offers, the excavation cleanse. Straight from the website: “Excavation is designed to flood your body with chlorophyll, restore your alkaline balance, and seriously rest your insides so they can finally unearth those crayons you ate when you were three.” I felt like I could handle it since I’m vegan already and as one of my friends noted, “isn’t vegan a cleanse in itself?” The cleanse consists of six juices per day. I started the first juice at 10:30 in the morning after weighing in at 122 lbs. The first juice is called Green Juice, which is 120 calories, made with romaine, celery, cucumber, green apple, spinach, kale, parsley, and lemon. This tastes very similar to the Jungle Juice I had at The Juicery the other day. At noon, I did a Power Hour hot yoga class; I might have had the first juice a little too close to class, I definitely felt a bit nauseous about fifteen minutes in, but it subsided quickly.

After yoga I had the second juice, another Green Juice at 2pm. I went out and ran some errands, and then at 5:30pm I had half of the third Green Juice and decided to save the rest for later. At 7:00pm I had the fourth juice – Spicy Lemonade, 110 calories, with filtered water, lemon, agave nectar, and cayenne. I was a little worried that the cayenne would irritate my empty stomach, but all was good. Then at 9:30pm I had the sixth juice – Cashew Milk, 300 calories, with filtered water, raw cashews, agave nectar, vanilla bean, and cinnamon. It was amazing and tasted like dessert. I ended up not drinking half of the third juice and the fifth juice: I just wasn’t that hungry and pretty sick of the green stuff.

On the second day, I was not looking forward to more Green Juice. I finished by first Green Juice by 10:30 then had the second at 12:30 and the third at 2:30. I really didn’t schedule two-hour juice increments, it just kind of happened that way.  I was hungry for the Spicy Lemonade pretty quickly and finished it by 4:00. In the afternoon I wanted real food so bad. Everything looked amazing. I even dreamed of eating cereal. I then had my last Green Juice at 7:00 on the train to New York City and the final Cashew Milk at 9:00. I was starving by 11:00 but suffered through it and went to bed soon after.

After the experience, I’m really happy I did it, but I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t difficult. I missed real food so much! After doing it, I’m now more conscious about what I put into my body. In general, I’d like to incorporate more green juices into my diet. I managed to lose 2 lbs. over the two days but I’m sure it will come back quickly. I recommend any type of cleanse for anyone who is interested – and definitely do a vegan one!

Leave a Reply

Categories

