Posted by: Antonia Ciccolo | September 6, 2010

New York City is Definitely the V Spot

Last week I decided to visit some friends and eat vegan food in New York City and I was incredibly impressed. I had written an earlier post about how New York City is far beyond any other city with the number of vegan restaurants at 42 – but wow, there seems to be something vegan to try everywhere I look.

The first breakfast I had was at a place in East Village called Café Mogador. Traditionally Moroccan, they had a wonderful fruit bowl with melon, bananas, kiwi, and berries. I also tried their freshly squeezed orange juice. After doing a little apartment searching with Allison and Mikayla, I took the 4 train down to Borough Hall in Brooklyn. I met up with Lindsey for lunch and she took me to this incredible Japanese restaurant called Ozu in Brooklyn Heights. I tried an Avocado Salad (which I’d never had before), and complemented it with a cucumber sushi roll. Lindsey and I were craving something sweet after the salty soy sauce, so we decided to go on a quest for a vegan bakery; we hopped on the 3 train and took it from Clark Street to Bergen Street.

Park Slope in particular is filled with great vegetarian and vegan food places. Right on Bergen Street, just a block away from the subway is an all vegan restaurant called Sun in Bloom. They offer a variety of vegan menu options including a bakery! Since Lindsey and I came for dessert, we had the hardest choice picking just one of the various cakes, cookies, and muffins. I decided to try the Blueberry Cheesecake (picture below) and Lindsey got a Chocolate Chip Banana muffin. The Cheesecake was delicious; I particularly liked the blueberries in the middle and the crust made of walnut and almond shavings. We then continued our walk around Park Slope and ran into another all-vegan restaurant called The V Spot. I know vegans can be hippies, but apparently they can also be pretty sexual! We were completely full at this point but still went inside to check out their menu. I have never seen such an extensive all-vegan menu at a restaurant: I’ll definitely have to go back.

That evening, back in Manhattan, I dragged my friend Carey to a Lebanese restaurant called Naya Mezze & Grill in Midtown East since I knew they had a wide variety of vegetarian options. Middle Eastern food usually has some great vegan items to choose from. We decided to order a bunch of small plates to share: Hommus, Falafel, Grape Leaves, and Loubie (green beans in a tomato sauce). Carey is a pretty picky eater, but I enjoyed every one of them.

The next morning, Carey took me to her favorite local bagel place called Pinnacle Deli & Bagels. She was convinced that I would get the full NYC bagel experience, but I was pretty skeptical: when I think vegan, I don’t think bagel and cream cheese. But sure enough, their bagels aren’t made with egg and they offer about five different flavors of tofu cream cheese! I topped my whole grain bagel with vegetable tofu cream cheese and it tasted like a regular New York-style bagel breakfast. This was an excellent way to end my fabulous New York City weekend.

I will have to go back soon – there are still so many restaurants I want to try. Does anyone have any vegan favorites in New York City for my next visit?

Blueberry Cheesecake at Sun in Bloom (Brooklyn, NY)

T-Shirt at The V Spot (Brooklyn, NY)

Responses

  1. So glad you enjoyed Brooklyn! It was great to see you and explore these vegan venues with you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

